Home Forums Rides Intermediate Road Ride, Thursday 13th of April

This topic contains 13 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  gdmalet 1 month ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

gdmalet
    Participant

Time to get this show on the road again, after the one week delay caused by snow (!) last week.

The first ride of the season, and we only have about 1.5 hours before sunset, so the ride needs to be relatively short. I was thinking of this:

https://www.strava.com/activities/566891483

Even with only 51km, it will be gloomy at the end, so bring your lights.

April is in North Carolina, and this is my first time on a road bike this year, so I don’t anticipate the pace will be too hectic!

We are the intermediate part of the Thursday Group Road Ride. You must be a member to join us, or you can sign a waiver for one try-a-ride.

Giles & April

gdmalet
    Participant

Five hardy souls were in my group, and I guess around fifteen in the other — where were you all? At least for my group you missed a gentle introduction to the season, prompted by some of us perhaps not being in quite the shape we hope to be soon. As a bonus, the fast guys passed us at the end of Middlebrook, so we let them tow us home, as I think they’d tired themselves out by then. Thanks folks!

Very little wind, and the sky cleared just before sunset, so it was quite pleasant. My toes were starting to complain in my summer shoes as the temperature dropped, but it was nothing too severe. Another fine evening ride.

Route was as advertised: https://www.strava.com/activities/941057627

And they still haven’t fixed the potholes on 8th Line.

g

gdmalet
    Participant

I forgot to add, we only had one moron objecting to us being on his road, and he missed us anyway….. https://youtu.be/2X1CFcqCSDg

Mel
    Participant